Don't worry, I have a book

Me, my thoughts and my life

Random Orlando Stops

on October 5, 2013

This week my friend Vicki is in town from Boston.  Until late December she lived in Florida for most of her life.  Due to this fact there are tons of Florida/Orlando things that she misses.  When we started planning her visit over 2 months ago we made a list of those places and built a schedule that incorporated all of them.  As with most plans created that far in advance it went through many modifications and tweaks in order to accommodate a variety of schedules.

Earlier this week I told you about her first night here.  On Wednesday the plan was for me to go to work until about 4pm, which I did.  I was even MOD that morning while the managers were on an outing.  The original plan had us going to Hollywood Studios (formerly MGM Studios) that night before a late night dinner at Kobe Steakhouse (I mentioned that I love Kobe, right?)  Well, for some reason Hollywood Studios closed at 6pm on Wednesday.  Normally it is open till 7pm or 9pm which would have given us 2-4 hours at the park.  Both of us consider Hollywood Studios our 4th favorite Disney Park so a few hours was all we needed.  Since my work schedule would only give us an hour at Hollywood Studios we decided to go walk around Downtown Disney instead.

imageIt ended up working out for the best because we got to meet up with one of our friends that otherwise would have missed seeing Vicki.  Since my work day ended up being pretty stressful we started out at Paradiso 37 for some margaritas, chips & dip.  I ordered a pomegranate margarita and the bartender brought me a raspberry margarita instead.  He quickly fixed his mistake and even gave me the raspberry one too.

imageWhile we walked around and explored the shops we discovered that we left something at the bar.  When we went back to retrieve it I noticed a really cool chandelier hanging in the entrance.  Around the candle lights are tequila bottles turned upside down.  I think they are all the 1800 brand but I am not a tequila person so I am not 100% sure.  Attached to the center globe are upside down martini glasses.  The accents appeared to be wrought iron so it is a nice combination of modern and old world.  A part of me also thought it looked like it could be from outer space.

On the third night (Thursday) we met several friends at Johnnie’s Hideaway for their Happy Hour.  They have really good food & drink specials.  My favorite drink there is their Cantaloupe Fresh Fruit Infusion Martini.  Fun fact, there is no cantaloupe anything in the mix.  On the regular menu these martinis are about $12 but during happy hour they are only $4.  Now, I don’t eat seafood of any kind so I cannot personally attest to how good the food is but everyone we met up with loved it.  Between everyone at the table over 3 dozen oysters, a plate of mussels, 2 giant cocktail shrimp, 1 order of calamari, 1 order of big boy tater tots and 2 tuna nachos were consumed by 6 people.  That list doesn’t even touch the alcohol that was consumed.

When Happy Hour ended we all headed home to change for our evening entertainment.  The ladies all went to Cowboys for Ladies Night (lighting inside is really bad so no pictures, sorry).  Every Thursday there is a $2 cover for ladies and free wells, bud light and wine till 11pm for ladies.  There are 7 bars between the inside and back patio.  Considering how packed the bar gets they need them all.  I like getting there early because they give 2 line dancing lessons between 8pm and 9:30pm.  None of us really know how to line dance but we have a great time trying!  Now, I have no rhythm and have a hard time picking up on all these dances but they look fun.   My friend Rachel and I have tentatively planned to go every Thursday and learn the dances.

 

What I am currently reading:  Storm of Shadows by Christina Dodd


Leave a comment

Meanwhile, back at the ranch...

music, poetry, musings, photography and philosophy from a woman who found her way back home and wants you to come over for a hike and a cocktail.

Belle of the Library

... the musings of a thirty-something, married, Southern teen librarian turned Stay-At-Home-Mom with a 14-year-old's sense of humor, an awkward spirit, and a stubborn, mouthy, redheaded country boy to accompany her through life.

CJ&Adrian

Me, my thoughts and my life

Peanut Butter Fingers

Take your finger, dip it in the peanut butter jar & voila!