Don't worry, I have a book

Me, my thoughts and my life

Treat Box

on January 13, 2014

This weekend while I was bored I decided to browse the DIY & Crafts section of Pintrest (yes, I know this can be dangerous).  I found a few things to try in the future and a cute treat box to try then.  I was excited to find this tutorial because I like to bake, eat 1 or 2 pieces of whatever it is, and then give the rest away.  I tend to just bring all of the extras to work in a Tupperware container but this way I can do individual portions as presents (Valentines Day is coming up).

Treat Box front

Of course new craft projects require a trip to JoAnn’s or Michaels (again, dangerous I know).  In this case I lucked out.  The cardstock I needed to buy is on sale 5 for $1 instead of $0.59 or $0.69 each.  I may have to go get more before the sale ends on the 18th.  Anyway, not the point.

Treat Box side

The Pin leads to the Cosmo Cricket Blog with a wonderful video tutorial on this Treat Box so I will let them explain.  A few notes though. 

  1. The paper used is 12” x 12”
  2. I don’t have the scoring tool mentioned but found that the back of a butter knife works wonderfully
  3. Taping is not necessary but helps keep the box together before tying shut
  4. The final dimensions are 6” long by 2” wide by 5” high.  I think these final dimensions can be changed to 6”x3” by 4.5” but I haven’t tried yet.
  5. The cap that is mentioned at the end gives the box a nice finished look.  I need more paper, and a punch.

 

What I am currently reading:  Dangerous Tides by Christine Feehan

Leave a Reply

Essentially Eclectic

A Creative Place for Wherever Life Leads

Meanwhile, back at the ranch...

music, poetry, musings, photography and philosophy from a woman who found her way back home and wants you to come over for a hike and a cocktail.

Belle of the Library

... the musings of a twenty-something, divorced, Southern librarian with a wildly inappropriate sense of humor, an inability to gauge most conversational cues, a knack for denial, and an ALMOST unhealthy attachment to her best friend.

CJ&Adrian

Me, my thoughts and my life

Peanut Butter Fingers

Take your finger, dip it in the peanut butter jar & voila!