Don't worry, I have a book

Me, my thoughts and my life

She is Here!!!!

on October 1, 2013

The day has finally arrived!!  Vicki is here!!  After over 2 months of waiting and planning she is here for 6 days straight!  We have a jam-packed schedule and have started already.

Since her flight landed this evening we planned to stay in tonight and order Chinese.  Well the flight landed about 50 minutes early (yay JetBlue!).  Since when are flights early?  And even when they are by 50 minutes?  Seriously?  It all worked out.  Instead of me waiting outside security for her I just met her outside of baggage claim.  While she was waiting for her luggage she sent me an angry face since she is no longer used to the humidity.  Of course, it didn’t help that she was wearing a sweatshirt in 80 degree weather.

imageOnce we got back to my apartment I set up the air mattress and made up her bed.  Can you tell I am in hospitality?  Not only did I make the bed but provided towels just like a hotel.  I am not a luxury hotel though so no turn down service or mints.  I also made her carry her own luggage, well kind of.  I took the light piece but made take the heavy one.

imageOnce the Chinese food arrived we had a picnic on the floor (I accidentally buried the table behind the mattress).  Like most times I order Chinese we ended up with leftovers.  Considering all of the restaurants we are visiting this week I am pretty sure I will have food for a week!

imageTo go along with our Chinese Vicki made us Kale Chips.  She and one of her Boston friends tried these a few weeks ago and fell in love.  I have to say they are pretty good and I will be making the again.  They are pretty thin but have a nice crunch to them and are super easy to make.  Here is the recipe.

image

Ingredients

Kale

Olive Oil

Adobo

spices of your choice

 

Directions

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees

Line a baking sheet with tinfoil

Placed dry kale, stems removed, on the baking sheet in a single layer

Lightly brush the kale with olive oil.  It doesn’t need a lot just a little

Sprinkle the kale with Adobo and any other spices you desire

Bake at 350 degrees for 10 – 12 minutes

 

What I am currently reading: Storm of Visions by Christina Dodd

One response to “She is Here!!!!

Leave a Reply

Essentially Eclectic

A Creative Place for Wherever Life Leads

Meanwhile, back at the ranch...

music, poetry, musings, photography and philosophy from a woman who found her way back home and wants you to come over for a hike and a cocktail.

Belle of the Library

... the musings of a BARELY thirty-something, married, Southern librarian with a wildly inappropriate sense of humor, an inability to gauge most emotional cues, a dear best friend since ninth grade, and a stubborn, mouthy, redheaded country boy to accompany her through life.

CJ&Adrian

Me, my thoughts and my life

Peanut Butter Fingers

Take your finger, dip it in the peanut butter jar & voila!