Don't worry, I have a book

Me, my thoughts and my life

Books & Me: Genres

on January 11, 2014

So books are in the title of my blog and at the end of each I tell you what I am currently reading but I realized that I have never written about my book preferences or philosophy if you will.  In thinking about this post I realized that I don’t really talk about books with people.  To me reading is personal and I am always worried that people will judge me based on what I read.  I have recently decided that this is a personal issue that I need to work on so here goes.

Books

My favorite genre of books is romance novels.  When most people here this they are surprised (you would have to know me to understand).  I don’t read them for the sex scenes I read them for the stories.  This genre, especially the contemporary subset, usually have strong female characters.  Granted there are usually unique circumstances that they have to overcome but it is always a good story.  Also, 90% have happy endings.  That is my one rule in all entertainment (movies & books).  There has to be a happy ending.  Thus, you will never find a Nicholas Sparks anything on my shelves.

soul

I also enjoy books from the young adult genre.  Not all of them (Twilight is stupid) but some.  The writers of these books have a great creativity that I love.  I theorize that because young adult’s minds are more open to the fantastic the authors are able to stretch their worlds farther.

not alone

 

What I am currently reading: Oceans of Fire by Christine Feehan

Leave a Reply

Essentially Eclectic

A Creative Place for Wherever Life Leads

Meanwhile, back at the ranch...

music, poetry, musings, photography and philosophy from a woman who found her way back home and wants you to come over for a hike and a cocktail.

Belle of the Library

... the musings of a BARELY thirty-something, married, Southern librarian with a wildly inappropriate sense of humor, an inability to gauge most emotional cues, a dear best friend since ninth grade, and a stubborn, mouthy, redheaded country boy to accompany her through life.

CJ&Adrian

Me, my thoughts and my life

Peanut Butter Fingers

Take your finger, dip it in the peanut butter jar & voila!