Don't worry, I have a book

Me, my thoughts and my life

What comes first: ingredients or recipe?

on February 15, 2014

When you are thinking about meals what do you consider first?  Do you take ingredients and create a recipe or do you buy ingredients that fill a recipe?

For me it is usually recipe first and then I collect the ingredients.  I tend to be a planner and like to only go shopping once every two weeks.  Also, I hate trying to think of things to make.  In order to play to my strengths I usually browse Pinterest and collect recipes for the week.  Since I only cook for myself 3 recipes last all week (leftovers, yummy!).

This week was different.  I wasn’t really interested in any recipes so I filled my shopping list with just general things.  Then while walking the aisles I found some very pretty pork chops.

pork chops

I am very picky on how my pork chops look and more often then not I pass them by.  While I didn’t have a specific recipe in mind I decided to get them and then check Pinterest (again, obsessed).  I found this recipe for Glazed Pork Chops which I am hoping will be amazing.

glazed chops

By the time I was done cooking I wasn’t hungry anymore so I decided to make mashed potatoes and steam some broccoli to create either lunches or dinners for the week.

pork meal

 

What I am currently reading:  Honor’s Splendour by Julie Garwood

Leave a Reply

Essentially Eclectic

A Creative Place for Wherever Life Leads

Meanwhile, back at the ranch...

music, poetry, musings, photography and philosophy from a woman who found her way back home and wants you to come over for a hike and a cocktail.

Belle of the Library

... the musings of an BARELY thirty-something, married, Southern librarian with a wildly inappropriate sense of humor, an inability to gauge most emotional cues, a dear best friend since ninth grade, and a stubborn, mouthy, redheaded country boy to accompany her through life.

CJ&Adrian

Me, my thoughts and my life

Peanut Butter Fingers

Take your finger, dip it in the peanut butter jar & voila!