Don't worry, I have a book

Me, my thoughts and my life

Prep Day: Week of Salads

on January 19, 2014

I seem to go through cycles of foods.  For example, one week I only want Mexican and another only Italian.  This week is seems to be salads.  My favorite kinds of salads are the complicated kind that you get in a restaurant.  However, if you are only making this salad for 1 person it is time consuming and can be wasteful.  This is my way around that.  I prep lots of ingredients and that can be easily combined in a variety of ways.

prep day - salad

Clockwise form the top: Shredded chicken, yellow pepper, green pepper, red pepper, celery, carrots and in the center 4 hard boiled eggs.

From these ingredients I plan to or have made the following dishes.

  • Omelet
  • Chicken Curry Salad (pictured below with a slight variation)
  • Buffalo Chicken Wrap
  • Entrée Salads with a variety of the ingredients
  • Asian inspired Entrée salad
  • Chicken Salad (like this)
  • Tossed Salad (maybe like this but with chicken)

Nice variety right?  Only 2 hours worth of prep time (FYI – the Shredded chicken takes 2 hours in the crock pot). 

chicken curry salad

 

 

What I am currently reading: Turbulent Sea by Christine Feehan

Leave a Reply

Essentially Eclectic

A Creative Place for Wherever Life Leads

Meanwhile, back at the ranch...

music, poetry, musings, photography and philosophy from a woman who found her way back home and wants you to come over for a hike and a cocktail.

Belle of the Library

... the musings of a twenty-something, divorced, Southern librarian with a wildly inappropriate sense of humor, an inability to gauge most conversational cues, a knack for denial, and an ALMOST unhealthy attachment to her best friend.

CJ&Adrian

Me, my thoughts and my life

Peanut Butter Fingers

Take your finger, dip it in the peanut butter jar & voila!