Don't worry, I have a book

Me, my thoughts and my life

Disney World Christmas

on January 2, 2014

I have a love hate relationship with Disney World during the fall and winter holidays.  I love the parks, decorations and some of the special events (some just aren’t wroth the money).  I hate all of the crowds.  Yes, I do realize that I am spoiled since I am able to visit the parks anytime and often wait just walk onto some of the rides. 

Candlelight

My favorite Christmas season event at Disney is Epcot’s Candlelight Processional.  When I first heard the name I thought it was one of Disney’s parades; Its not.  Disney describes it as “the stirring story of Christmas as told by a celebrity narrator, accompanied by a 50-piece orchestra and mass choir.”  They invites high school choirs from around the state (and I think Georgia too) to come and preform.  There are 2-3 shows each night starting right after Thanksgiving through New Years.  The performance itself is free with park admission though it is held in the American Theater so seating is limited.  To me the best way to enjoy this is with their Dinner package (my friend, Rachel, and I have done this for the last 3 years).  The package is a set price (depending on the restaurant) for the meal, lunch or dinner (hint: lunch is more affordable), and provides you with guaranteed seating at a specified show time.  It is so worth it.  There is queued seating as well but I have heard of people standing in line for hours to get a seat for the performance.  Be honest, if you are going to see this you are most likely going to be eating in Epcot anyway.  The package isn’t that much more than the price of a normal meal.

Blue Ice Castle

My second favorite thing at Disney during Christmas is Cinderella’s Castle in Magic Kingdom.  Every year they drape the castle in white lights and it looks like ice.  Just beautiful!

Osborne Lights

My third Christmas favorite is the Osborne Lights at Hollywood Studios.  Sadly I found out this year is the last year.  On the bright side it mean something new is coming next year!  Now the story is that this collection of Christmas lights started at the Osborne’s house several years ago.  However, their collection got so big that it started to cover multiple houses.  When Disney first purchased the collection, in 1995, there were about 100,000 lights.  It has now grown exponentially to cover the whole main street section and is set to music.  Every night once the sun goes down the turn all of the lights on and cycle through a variety of Christmas carols.  It is so fun to watch and there are lights everywhere!!

Main Street         Peace

 

 

What I am currently reading:  Lover Avenged by J.R. Ward

Leave a Reply

Essentially Eclectic

A Creative Place for Wherever Life Leads

Meanwhile, back at the ranch...

music, poetry, musings, photography and philosophy from a woman who found her way back home and wants you to come over for a hike and a cocktail.

Belle of the Library

... the musings of an BARELY thirty-something, married, Southern librarian with a wildly inappropriate sense of humor, an inability to gauge most emotional cues, a dear best friend since ninth grade, and a stubborn, mouthy, redheaded country boy to accompany her through life.

CJ&Adrian

Me, my thoughts and my life

Peanut Butter Fingers

Take your finger, dip it in the peanut butter jar & voila!