Don't worry, I have a book

Me, my thoughts and my life

Running Away to the Beach

on November 3, 2013

Sometimes I just want to run away.  Not from any person or situation (usually) but just to do something different.  Don’t get me wrong, I like routines and schedules.  In fact part of me needs them.  But at the same time sometimes I need to have no plans somewhere I don’t live.  At home I always have a list of things I should do or have put off.

runaway

Last week at work a lot of little things went wrong.  Nothing huge but all of the little things added up.  I don’t like failing or even feeling like I failed (which is usually the case).  I tend to be harder on myself than other people are.  Anyway, by Thursday I needed a break and was ready for the week to be over.  I decided to runaway to the beach (does it count as running away if you tell your mom?).  I love the sound of water, it makes everything better.

beach fixes everything

Over the past few weeks the town of Sarasota kept coming to my attention.  When this happens I usually take it as a sign that I should explore; so I did (I will tell you about it tomorrow).  I was debating how long to stay at the beach so looked up one of my job perks.  I was able to find a hotel room for a reasonable price so decided to leave after work on Friday.  This way I would have all day Saturday at the beach (and I got to stay the night at a hotel).  I usually sleep great at hotels.  There is just something about the beds, pillows and duvets that make me feel like I am wrapped in a cloud.

find ourselves

I did some Googling to find a picture about running away and also found the quote above and I think it is perfect for me.  Most of the quotes I found are along the lines of you can’t run away form your problems (I agree but there are sometimes you just need a break).  For me I think 99% of my urges to runaway have to do with finding myself.  While I am content with my career and love my friends and family I sometimes feel that I don’t quite belong.  So, until that feeling fades I will continue to temporarily run away (planned or unplanned).

 

What I am currently reading: The Mistress by Susan Wiggs

Leave a Reply

Essentially Eclectic

A Creative Place for Wherever Life Leads

Meanwhile, back at the ranch...

music, poetry, musings, photography and philosophy from a woman who found her way back home and wants you to come over for a hike and a cocktail.

Belle of the Library

... the musings of an BARELY thirty-something, married, Southern librarian with a wildly inappropriate sense of humor, an inability to gauge most emotional cues, a dear best friend since ninth grade, and a stubborn, mouthy, redheaded country boy to accompany her through life.

CJ&Adrian

Me, my thoughts and my life

Peanut Butter Fingers

Take your finger, dip it in the peanut butter jar & voila!