Don't worry, I have a book

Me, my thoughts and my life

Inherited Recipe: Pumpkin Roll

on October 27, 2013

Some of my favorite recipes are the ones that I have inherited from family and friends.  Some of the recipes I tweak for my personal preferences (I am kind of a picky eater) and there are some that are perfect the way they are.  This recipe is one of the latter ones.

spread

This recipe came from my best friend’s (since kindergarten) mom.  She made this for all of her family every fall.  She even made enough to send with the hunters in her family on opening weekend.  Once she found out I loved them too she always made one for me.  Sadly I was never able to watch or help her make these so mine are no were near as perfect as hers.  They always turned out a uniform thickness and perfectly smooth.  I will just have to keep practicing till I get it right Smile.

cool down

Every time I make these rolls and share them with people I get rave reviews and tons of requests.  I will warn you that these tend to make a mess because of the flour. The good news is that the mess and time to make these is about the same for 1 roll as for multiple rolls.  I made 4 and if you cut out the waiting time it only took about 2 hours. 

pumpkin roll

Ingredients

For the Roll

  • 3 eggs
  • 1 cup sugar
  • 2/3 cup canned pumpkin
  • 3/4 cup flour
  • 1 teaspoon baking powder
  • 2 teaspoons cinnamon
  • 1 teaspoon ginger
  • 1/2 teaspoon nutmeg
  • 1.2 teaspoon salt

Frosting

  • 1 cup confectioners sugar
  • 3 ounces cream cheese
  • 4 tablespoons butter

Directions

  • Preheat oven to 375⁰F
  • Beat eggs on high for 5 minutes
  • Add in sugar and pumpkin, mixing well
  • Stir in flour, baking powder, cinnamon, ginger, nutmeg and salt
  • Line a baking sheet with wax or parchment paper.
  • Spread batter evenly
  • Bake 15 minutes
  • While the roll is baking dust a tea towel or parchment paper with flour.  The floured area needs to be roughly the size of the roll you have baking
  • Turn the roll onto the floured towel or parchment paper.
  • Roll up and let cool completely
  • Once the roll is cooled mix up the frosting and spread on the inside of the cooled roll.
  • Re-roll, wrap in tin foil and refrigerate till ready to serve.

Tips

  • You can get 2 rolls from 1 can of pumpkin
  • Using parchment paper instead of a tea towel makes clean up a lot easier
  • Put the flour through a sieve or strainer to dust, you only need a light dusting
  • The batter is think so won’t self level, all lumps and variances in thickness will show in the baked roll.  This isn’t necessarily a bad thing as most people won’t even know

 

What I am currently reading: Ravished by Amanda Quick

Leave a Reply

Essentially Eclectic

A Creative Place for Wherever Life Leads

Meanwhile, back at the ranch...

music, poetry, musings, photography and philosophy from a woman who found her way back home and wants you to come over for a hike and a cocktail.

Belle of the Library

... the musings of an BARELY thirty-something, married, Southern librarian with a wildly inappropriate sense of humor, an inability to gauge most emotional cues, a dear best friend since ninth grade, and a stubborn, mouthy, redheaded country boy to accompany her through life.

CJ&Adrian

Me, my thoughts and my life

Peanut Butter Fingers

Take your finger, dip it in the peanut butter jar & voila!