Don't worry, I have a book

Me, my thoughts and my life

New Recipe Sunday

on October 21, 2013

(Yes, I know it is Monday.)

One of my favorite things to do on Sundays after church is to try a new recipe.  This week is a 2-for-1.  I really wanted to make some soup to take for lunches (or a quick dinner after work) so I explored the hundreds of recipes I have on Pintrest till one caught my eye.  (I have mentioned that I am addicted to Pintrest, right?)

Crock Pot Buffalo Chicken Soup

During my Pintrest exploration I noticed that I have several variation of spicy chicken soup (Chicken Enchilada, Chicken Tortilla, Buffalo Chicken….).  I think there maybe a theme there, just saying.  Anyway,  I opened several of the recipes and decided on this version of Crock Pot Buffalo Chicken Soup (it also happened to be the recipe I had the most ingredients for).  The recipe calls for shredded Rotisserie Chicken.  Now I have never bought a rotisserie chicken instead I usually use this recipe for Slow Cooker Teriyaki Chicken, since I love the slightly sweet taste it has, but for this soup I didn’t want the sweet flavor.  Instead I used the shredded chicken recipe from this Crock Pot Buffalo Chicken Lettuce Wrap but did not add the hot sauce for the last 30 minutes (since I was putting it in a soup that had hot sauce I was concerned this would be too spicy).

photo_1

As you can see above I topped my soup with Blue Cheese crumbles and more hot sauce (I like things spicy!).  Next time I think I will make a few tweaks like adding some more vegetables (carrots, peppers and potatoes), definitely more hot sauce and I think I will use heavy cream instead of milk for a creamier broth (maybe half milk and half heavy cream).  All in all it turned out better than I thought it would, and I got 7 servings out of it.

 

What I am currently reading:  Percy Jackson and the Lightening Thief by Rick Riordan

One response to “New Recipe Sunday

  1. Andrea says:

    Sunday is my cooking/experimenting day too! This soup looks yummy!

Leave a Reply

Essentially Eclectic

A Creative Place for Wherever Life Leads

Meanwhile, back at the ranch...

music, poetry, musings, photography and philosophy from a woman who found her way back home and wants you to come over for a hike and a cocktail.

Belle of the Library

... the musings of an BARELY thirty-something, married, Southern librarian with a wildly inappropriate sense of humor, an inability to gauge most emotional cues, a dear best friend since ninth grade, and a stubborn, mouthy, redheaded country boy to accompany her through life.

CJ&Adrian

Me, my thoughts and my life

Peanut Butter Fingers

Take your finger, dip it in the peanut butter jar & voila!