Don't worry, I have a book

Me, my thoughts and my life

Healthy Lifestyle Goal

on September 26, 2013

Have you ever noticed how easy it is to break a good habit and how hard it is to break a bad habit?

Last October I decided that I needed to lose weight and have a healthier lifestyle.  I have made significant progress on my food choices (most of the time).  I don’t usually crave sugar or desserts (unless it involves the combination of mint & chocolate), for me the foods that are hard to resist are chips and bread.  The aspect my healthier lifestyle that I am having a problem with is exercise.  I would rather curl up on my couch (or bed) and read a book or watch a movie.  I don’t get the endorphin high that people talk about from working out.  I just get bored, sweaty and sore. This week work has been so crazy and my schedule has been different everyday and unfortunately I let this be my excuse for not doing anything to promote my healthier lifestyle.

This October my goal is to do some kind of physical activity at least 3 times a week.  In August I was doing pretty well at going to my apartment gym and working out for at least 30 minuets.  Granted my version of working out is not as intense as most people’s definition but at least I am moving.  I have found a few interval workouts on the treadmill and elliptical that I like (or at least tolerate).  If I could find an affordable yoga studio I would do that but they are all so expensive.

image

Last November when I visited Michigan my Frusin (friend+cousin=frusin) told me about a cool device called a Fitbit.  She had started a running regimen with the goal of running a 5k (she meet her goal and is continuing to beat her time) and learned about this device from her running friends.  We both have the Fitbit One which tracks your steps, distance, floors, calories, active minutes and sleep.  The device links wirelessly with the account you create and you can compete and encourage your friends and family who have a Fitbit.  So far she has taken more steps than me every week but one week I will win!!

Okay, enough rambling for the night.  I am pretty sure I am brain-dead from work this week.  The good news is that I have some things to look forward to next week.  On Saturday I am going to Universal with one of my good friends.  We both get to act like little kids when we go to theme parks together.  Then on Tuesday Vicki arrives and our week of Disney begins!!

 

What I am currently reading:  Into the Shadow by Christina Dodd

4 responses to “Healthy Lifestyle Goal

  1. What measures improves I guess! Do you find that the feedback from the fit bit data motivates you to do more?

Leave a Reply

Essentially Eclectic

A Creative Place for Wherever Life Leads

Meanwhile, back at the ranch...

music, poetry, musings, photography and philosophy from a woman who found her way back home and wants you to come over for a hike and a cocktail.

Belle of the Library

... the musings of an BARELY thirty-something, married, Southern librarian with a wildly inappropriate sense of humor, an inability to gauge most emotional cues, a dear best friend since ninth grade, and a stubborn, mouthy, redheaded country boy to accompany her through life.

CJ&Adrian

Me, my thoughts and my life

Peanut Butter Fingers

Take your finger, dip it in the peanut butter jar & voila!