Don't worry, I have a book

Me, my thoughts and my life

Work Potluck

on September 22, 2013

Last week we had a potluck at work.  The theme was Diversity and we were asked to bring a dish that represents our heritage or reminds us of home.  My heritage is German but I don’t like the German foods that I have tried.  Admittedly I haven’t tried that many.  I think on one o my next trips to Epcot I will have to eat at the restaurant in Germany.

imageAnyway back to the story.  My family does potlucks a lot.  When we all get together there are usually 15-30 of us depending on who is in town.  That’s a lot of people to feed so we always split up the cooking.  One of my Aunts always brings a specific salad.  She got it from a member of her in-law family and brought it to us.  I am not sure if it has a real name but we always call it Aunt Pat Salad.  It is fairly simple but we all love it.  A few of us even “fight” to take home the extras, if there are any.  Since this dish reminds me of home and family this is what I decided to bring.

 

Ingredients

2 heads of Iceberg lettuce

1 package of hard salami

Tomatoes (grape tomatoes work well)

Onion (use sparingly)

4 cups mozzarella cheese

1 container Good Seasons Italian dressing (the kind you buy in a packet and mix yourself)

Directions

Chop everything up and mix together.

Tips

If you are taking it for a pot luck keep everything separate until about 10 minutes before you serve.   While the leftovers are wonderful they tend to be kind of soupy.

The amount of onion and tomatoes are a personal choice.  For example I don’t like either so tend to leave them out.

The dressing helps to combine everything and “condenses” it.

 

Most of the people I work with are from Latin America or are Creole.  They make some fantastic food!  Even though food wise their culture is similar the dishes are still different.  For example, we had about 4 different versions of chicken and rice.  Everything was so good that I ate 2 plates full of food (everyone else did too).  Also, I wasn’t hungry the rest of the day.

image                 image

 

What I am currently reading:  Touch of Darkness by Christina Dodd

Leave a Reply

Essentially Eclectic

A Creative Place for Wherever Life Leads

Meanwhile, back at the ranch...

music, poetry, musings, photography and philosophy from a woman who found her way back home and wants you to come over for a hike and a cocktail.

Belle of the Library

... the musings of an BARELY thirty-something, married, Southern librarian with a wildly inappropriate sense of humor, an inability to gauge most emotional cues, a dear best friend since ninth grade, and a stubborn, mouthy, redheaded country boy to accompany her through life.

CJ&Adrian

Me, my thoughts and my life

Peanut Butter Fingers

Take your finger, dip it in the peanut butter jar & voila!