Don't worry, I have a book

Me, my thoughts and my life

Pasta with Sausage and Broccoli

on August 28, 2013

As I was making the recipe for this post I realized that I approach cooking and baking in totally different ways.  With baking I have to measure precisely and rarely deviate from the recipe.  When cooking after I make a dish once according to the directions I tend to eyeball amounts and make modifications for my personal taste.

image

I found this recipe through Pintrest and loved the idea so “pinned” it for later reference.  The original recipe came from Real Simple and can be found here.  Now I don’t really like onions so I almost always leave that ingredient out of all recipes.  I also prefer Turkey Sausage to Chicken Sausage and I didn’t have fresh grated Parmesan Cheese so I used the “powdered” stuff.  Ok, let’s get started.

image

First, get the pasta started.  I like to boil the water before adding the noodles.  Also, I usually throw in a pinch of salt every time I make pasta but forgot tonight.  Anyway….while the water is boiling start sauteing the onion (if you are using onion).  If you aren’t using onion (like me) cut up the sausage and brown.

image

On the recipe oil is used with the onion so to help the sausage I added just a dollop of oil to the sausage.  Also, the turkey sausage has less fat than other sausage so the oil helps with the browning (at least I think it does but I am not a professional chef).

image

After the sausage has browned to your satisfaction add in the broccoli and a little bit of water.  I added less than the recipe called for but I was not looking to make a sauce with the remaining liquid just to steam the broccoli.  I used all of the broccoli that I cut during my Prep Day about 2 weeks ago.

image

Cover the broccoli and sausage mixture and let the broccoli steam to your desired tenderness.  I am rather impatient so I removed the cover and stirred everything up a few times.

image

After the broccoli is tender turn off the heat and add the cooked noodles and Parmesan cheese.  I love cheese so I added more than the recipe called for.  Also, I have noticed that the “powdered” stuff has less flavor than the fresh grated.  Mix everything together and serve.  Keeping in mind that I didn’t measure anything this made me dinner tonight and 3 servings of leftover for lunch or dinner next week.  If I am not planning on eating these within the next 3 or 4 days I freeze the leftovers and put them in the fridge the night before I take it for lunch.

What I am currently reading:  Slow Burn by E.B Walters

2 responses to “Pasta with Sausage and Broccoli

  1. jes says:

    Looks healthy and delishious!

  2. jes says:

    delicious!

Leave a Reply

Essentially Eclectic

A Creative Place for Wherever Life Leads

Meanwhile, back at the ranch...

music, poetry, musings, photography and philosophy from a woman who found her way back home and wants you to come over for a hike and a cocktail.

Belle of the Library

... the musings of an BARELY thirty-something, married, Southern librarian with a wildly inappropriate sense of humor, an inability to gauge most emotional cues, a dear best friend since ninth grade, and a stubborn, mouthy, redheaded country boy to accompany her through life.

CJ&Adrian

Me, my thoughts and my life

Peanut Butter Fingers

Take your finger, dip it in the peanut butter jar & voila!