Don't worry, I have a book

Me, my thoughts and my life

Big Wide World or “Its a Small World After All”

on August 25, 2013

Tonight I got to chat with one of my British friends.  Since she moved back to England in April we haven’t really gotten to talk much ( I suppose if you want to be technical we didn’t talk tonight either since we used WhatsApp to text).  During our conversation I realized how much technology has allowed out world to “shrink” or at least become more accessible.  At the same time there is still so much of it that I have yet to see and want to visit.

whatsapp

During the conversation I stated to think about how many international friends and acquaintances I have.  If we modified the “Seven Degrees of Kevin Bacon” game I bet I could find a connection to almost every continent. Personally (1st degree) I have friends in England, Brazil, China, Kazakhstan, Australia and India not to mention all of my friends and family here in the US and Canada.  If I start to factor in all of their connections and the degree of connection expands so does the map (so is the world getting smaller or bigger?).

small world

Then I started thinking that the internet and Social Media are also bringing the world to all of us.  One of my favorite accounts on Twitter is Everyday they post pictures from around the world.  So I, a girl in Orlando, FL, gets to see pictures daily from Greece, Africa, Italy, the Caribbean and many other place (does this make the world smaller or bigger?).  Facebook also allows me to keep up with my friends.  Like me a lot of my friends are addicted to travel so through their posts I have been able to “experience” their travels as well.  So far this year several of my friends have taken tours of Europe, moved back to their country, and visited more countries that I know about.

big wide world

Finally I considered less technological resources like libraries, museums and theme parks (I live in the world of Mickey Mouse, remember?).  In museums you can find art work from around the world all displayed in one place.  In one day you can soak up culture from other countries and different time periods without leaving the building.  Libraries also allow exploration.  Within the pages of books you can explore other times and places, the past, present and future, both real and imagined.  There is no limit.  At theme parks like Epcot there are pavilions that spotlight other cultures. Their food, drink, traditional clothing, natural wonders, traditions and people.  Did you know that the people who work in Epcot’s pavilions tend to be from that country?

So, do all of these things emphasize what a Big Wide World we live in or, is it just “A Small World After All”?

 

What I am currently reading: So far this weekend I have read Bridegroom Wore Plaid by Grace Burrowes, The Ghost Pirate’s Treasure by Barbara Ivie Green, Pink Slips and Glass Slippers by J.P Hansen and will start Deadly Offerings by Alexa Grace.  All of these were free Kindle books that I found through Ebook Impresario.
//

Leave a Reply

Essentially Eclectic

A Creative Place for Wherever Life Leads

Meanwhile, back at the ranch...

music, poetry, musings, photography and philosophy from a woman who found her way back home and wants you to come over for a hike and a cocktail.

Belle of the Library

... the musings of a BARELY thirty-something, married, Southern librarian with a wildly inappropriate sense of humor, an inability to gauge most emotional cues, a dear best friend since ninth grade, and a stubborn, mouthy, redheaded country boy to accompany her through life.

CJ&Adrian

Me, my thoughts and my life

Peanut Butter Fingers

Take your finger, dip it in the peanut butter jar & voila!