Don't worry, I have a book

Me, my thoughts and my life

Prep Day

on August 20, 2013

Last week when I was surfing different blogs I found a series called “Sunday Food Prep” on the Lean Green Bean.  Every Sunday she posts pictures and short blurbs from people showing what they made over the weekend to help inspire others.  Anyone can send her a picture and description (I will be on there next Sunday!!).

I like to prep several things for the week for several reasons.  Here are a few:

1.   I only have to wash my pots and pans 1 day instead of 7.

2.  Packing lunch everyday is super easy and takes less than 5 minutes (Yay for more time to sleep!).

3.  Dinner is easier every night thus I am less likely to decide that a restaurant or fast food sounds like a good idea.

4.  Healthy snacks are now at my fingertips and are as easy to get to as the unhealthy ones.

Here is what I did this week.

Food PrepTaco Meat:  I use this for tacos (of course), nachos, taco salad and sometimes quesadillas.

Cheese sticks:  I love string cheese and cheese sticks.  They are wonderful snacks

Green Grapes:  All washed and stems removed for easy snacking

Sausage cheese balls:  a great grab n’ go breakfast.  Not necessarily healthy but I am bad at eating breakfast so it is a start.  I will share the recipe soon.

Green Peppers:  Cut up for snacks (can you tell I like snacks?), additions to tacos, salads and stir-fry

Broccoli:  Cut up for stir-fry and a Sausage and broccoli pasta dish that I like

Chicken Noodle Soup:  I haven’t been feeling the greatest the last few days and chicken soup sounded sooooo good.  That pot made 8 servings.  I froze some and have been taking them for lunch.

Candied Almonds: (not pictured)  I love candied almonds.  They are one of my favorite treats but the little cones often cost $4 or $5.  That is kind of pricy so I found this recipe to make them myself.  Next time I am going to use less sugar.  As I was putting the finished nuts into containers I think I broke off and discarded more than half of the sugar.

 

What I am currently reading: Harry Potter and the Deathly Hollows I am almost done re-reading the series! 

3 responses to “Prep Day

  1. Mom says:

    Looks and sounds delicious! jes

  2. love this!!! great job with the food prep 🙂

  3. […] the remaining liquid just to steam the broccoli.  I used all of the broccoli that I cut during my Prep Day about 2 weeks […]

Leave a Reply

Essentially Eclectic

A Creative Place for Wherever Life Leads

Meanwhile, back at the ranch...

music, poetry, musings, photography and philosophy from a woman who found her way back home and wants you to come over for a hike and a cocktail.

Belle of the Library

... the musings of a BARELY thirty-something, married, Southern librarian with a wildly inappropriate sense of humor, an inability to gauge most emotional cues, a dear best friend since ninth grade, and a stubborn, mouthy, redheaded country boy to accompany her through life.

CJ&Adrian

Me, my thoughts and my life

Peanut Butter Fingers

Take your finger, dip it in the peanut butter jar & voila!