Don't worry, I have a book

Me, my thoughts and my life

21 Days and Counting

on August 15, 2013

I have lived in Florida for 4 years now but still consider my mom’s house in Michigan “home.”  Living over 1,200 miles from home I don’t get to visit as often as I want to.


In fact most years I am only able to visit once.  So in that time I try to see everyone that I can and do the things that I miss about Michigan.  It is often a juggling act to get everything in and often not possible.  One of my favorite places in Michigan is Mackinac Island and I haven’t visited there in about 6 or 7 years.  If you have never heard of it Mackinac Island is just east of the tip of the mitten and has no motor vehicles (except a fire truck, ambulance and 1 cop car).  Everyone walks, ride horses or bicycles.  The Island is known for its fudge (almost every other store sells it) and they have some beautiful Victorian style houses.  If you are visiting Michigan but have never been I highly recommend it.  I am sure at some later date I will do a whole post on Mackinac Island as I love it that much.

One of my favorites

One of my favorites

Back to this trip.  Fall is my favorite time to visit because it is the season I miss the most.  In Michigan fall means apple orchards, apple cider, fresh doughnuts, pumpkin patches, bonfires, crisp air, s’mores, hobo pies, the Renaissance Festival and the colors.  All of the trees that have been green all summer turn to beautiful shades of red, yellow and orange.  You drive up north and you are surrounded by the colors of the sunset.  It is wonderfully peaceful.  In case you aren’t sure if I like the color change just a little my computer background at work is this:      screen-shot-2011-11-17-at-1-41-40-pm

I am ecstatic to say that during this trip I get to have a bonfire, including s’mores and hobo pies, with my friends, visit an apple orchard/pumpkin patch to enjoy fresh doughnuts and cider with my mom (and hopefully my step-dad, nephew and stepsister) and have a huge family dinner with all of my aunts, uncles and cousins. 

Can you tell I am excited?

 

What I am currently reading:  Harry Potter and the Half Blood Prince

 

One response to “21 Days and Counting

  1. Joan Smith says:

    We are here and waiting for you! OX OX OX

Leave a Reply

Essentially Eclectic

A Creative Place for Wherever Life Leads

Meanwhile, back at the ranch...

music, poetry, musings, photography and philosophy from a woman who found her way back home and wants you to come over for a hike and a cocktail.

Belle of the Library

... the musings of a BARELY thirty-something, married, Southern librarian with a wildly inappropriate sense of humor, an inability to gauge most emotional cues, a dear best friend since ninth grade, and a stubborn, mouthy, redheaded country boy to accompany her through life.

CJ&Adrian

Me, my thoughts and my life

Peanut Butter Fingers

Take your finger, dip it in the peanut butter jar & voila!