Don't worry, I have a book

Me, my thoughts and my life

Beach Day

on August 13, 2013

This summer has been really rainy here so I have not had as many beach days as I would like.  Now, I can’t blame this lack of beach days completely on the rain.  I don’t like going to the beach by myself and most of my friends work on the weekends and since January I don’t.

I have had a few pool days though.  For some reason I am more comfortable hanging out at the pool by myself than at the beach.  pool

Back to the beach.  This weekend my friend Allison and I planned to go and it finally worked!!  We brought drinks (yes of the adult variety) and snacks from home and stopped at Publix to get subs for lunch.  It was sunny, hot (over 100), the water was refreshing, the beach wasn’t over crowded and we found free parking.  For the area of Cocoa Beach that we visited that is saying something.

beach

Since both of us are fair-skinned we (mostly me as I burn more) applied liberal amounts of sunscreen multiple times.  I should have done so a few more times as I came home with some red spots but that is nothing new.  The last two times Allison and I have gone to the beach together we have brought multiple containers of sunscreen and alcohol.  Can you tell we are in our twenties?

I am glad we finally got a beach day as “the beach” has been popping up multiple places in my life recently.  I was talking to my mom one day and she mentioned that my nephew really, really wanted to go to the beach this summer.  Now, they are in MI and he is 5 so all he really wanted to do was build a sandcastle and try to catch minnows, but it still counts as the beach.  Then as I was surfing my social media sites I saw this Tweet: The ultimate sand castle. pic.twitter.com/IXfbX3julC— Earth Pics (@ThatsEarth) August 12, 2013.  Is that a cool pic or what?

I know, I know.  I live in Florida and I am complaining about not getting enough beach days.  I should just go when I want to.  I will work on it.

 

What I am currently reading:  I am still on Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix.  

Leave a Reply

Essentially Eclectic

A Creative Place for Wherever Life Leads

Meanwhile, back at the ranch...

music, poetry, musings, photography and philosophy from a woman who found her way back home and wants you to come over for a hike and a cocktail.

Belle of the Library

... the musings of a BARELY thirty-something, married, Southern librarian with a wildly inappropriate sense of humor, an inability to gauge most emotional cues, a dear best friend since ninth grade, and a stubborn, mouthy, redheaded country boy to accompany her through life.

CJ&Adrian

Me, my thoughts and my life

Peanut Butter Fingers

Take your finger, dip it in the peanut butter jar & voila!